BC Tree Fruits…. from the US….

Standard

A B.C. Tree Fruits worker launches hunger strike after being suspended for speaking out against his employer.

That’ll be NAFTA for you. Mind boggling, that we’re surrounded by orchards in this area and it’s better to import them from the US, than support our local growers.

But, of course, I’ve got to “save the planet” by holidaying in the back garden, using the car less, or switching to mercury lightbulbs… maybe it’s just me, but, I’m suspicious….. I’ve got a real strong feeling I’m being fed a load of b*llsh*t

UPDATE….

Let me get this right then, BC Fruits are supposedly dealing with not just BC Fruit, but Washington state also so says this “whistleblower”…..

So, being a farmers market regular and buying my fruit and veg from local growers, I thought I’d do some digging around on the BC Tree Fruits website (www.bctree.com)…..

Because since 1936, we’ve helped to promote not just British Columbia’s amazing apples, but also pears, cherries, apricots, peaches, prune plums and nectarines. And even some stuff that doesn’t grow on trees, like grapes and blueberries. Hence, fruits.

We’re a part of the Okanagan Tree Fruit Cooperative, owned by over 800 local grower families.

No mention as far as I can tell of including apples from Washington, (in the U.S.) in a British Columbia local growers outlet, unless they’re included in those 800 local grower families and a state, from another country can be classed as local of course. I, as always, am happy to be corrected.

Our new tagline lets you know that our produce is nothing short of delectable. It’s also a subtle reminder that we have way more than apples (though we do have a lot of apples). Like pears, peaches, cherries and a whole host of other fruits grown by 800 local families who love what they do and where they do it: the Okanagan.

I see…. “the Okanagan”….. not Washington then. And oh, there’s a map…. http://www.bctree.com/about/our-growers

….. have a guess if Washington is on it…..

I think I’ll be spending a little more time at the Famers Market this week and see if I can find out some more info on what exactly this lot get up to…..

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

